Upwell Parish Council
Upwell Parish Council

A letter from Rt.Hon. Elizabeth Truss MP

The Rt. Hon. Elizabeth Truss MP

Member of Parliament for South West Norfolk

01842 757345

Dear Parish Council


I have received the following information from UK Power Networks which I thought might be helpful for residents during adverse weather conditions.

In the event of a power cut, your constituents can contact us by phone on 105 (or 0333 32 32 105 from a mobile) or on twitter: @ukpowernetworks.


UK Power Networks has a Priority Service Register for your constituents who may be more vulnerable and require extra assistance in a power cut. You and your constituents can find out more information on our website: http://bit.ly/1c3CkOO. We currently work with the British Red Cross who can activate their volunteers to support vulnerable customers if power is affected. Emergency teams in local authorities also have access to a web link that enables them to see fault levels.


I also wanted to alert residents to the Government’s Start up Loans Company. The aim of the company is to support people with a commercially viable business idea but who have no access to finance, providing pre finance advice, business loans and valuable mentoring support. So far the scheme has supported 21,470 businesses across the UK, lending £113,485,492. Further details can be found at www.startuploans.co.uk



If you would like to meet to discuss the points raised above or any other issues, I would be delighted to come along to chat with parish councillors and local residents. Please contact me by email Elizabeth.truss.mp@parliament.uk or telephone my office 01842 757345.


Best Wishes,

Elizabeth Truss MP

Power Cuts Update

A reminder that if you text 'Power' followed by your postcode to 80876 you will receive messages on progress of repair work and an estimated time for the power to go back on. (example: Power IP3 6QX)

New...... Walk Upwell detail & map for download

To see and download the map & details for Walk Upwell

click here

Parish Council Information

Chairman - Paul Williams


Deputy Chairman - Richard Melton 01945 771974




Prue Lester 01945 772234

David Pope - 01945 773054

Jill Gooch - 01945 773301

Brian Carr - 01945 774145

Keith Harrison - 01945 772661

Chris Robinson - 07836 606098

Ros Shorting - 01945 773604

Andrew Harrison - 01945 773735

Richard Melton - 01945 771944

Colin Rose - 07885 258434


Meggan Mercer


Christine Aston



Your Borough Councillors Are:


David Pope


Colin Rose



Your County Councillor is:

Harry Humphrey -

01945 430539



Clerk: Kate Bennett - 01945 592 747

Email: upwellpc@gmail.com


Webmaster: bill@upwellparish.com


Upwell Village Hall:

Ros Shorting
01945 773604






Crime Map

Click here for the latest crime map for the area.

PrintPrint | Sitemap
© Upwell Parish Council